

Audi Oman Open Hobie-16 National Championships

On September 14/15 the 2006 Audi Oman Open Hobie-16 National Championships were held at the PDORC. The event was a great success with a record 15 boats competing in strong winds. A total of nine races determined the championship. As last year one team stood out and proved to be nearly unbeatable. The winners were Frank van Beek (helm) and Sabine Vahrenkamp (crew) after claiming 4 first, 2 second and 3 third places. Last year's winners Klaus Mueller and Jane Nicolson had to settle for second place followed by Tony and Paul Henry van Thiel in third. The weekend saw some very competitive sailing. With perfect wind conditions during both days we couldn't have wished for a better championship. A warm thanks to the many people who helped out, but especially to the OOD Albert Whitley and his crew, Dave Clark who was once again the driving force in the organisation and Audi Oman. For the first time the National Hobie Youth Championships will be organised as a dedicated 1 day event on December 23rd. Helms and crew under 20 can register with Dave (clarkd@omantel.net.om)





1st Frank van Beek and Sabine Vahrenkamp

15 crews, organisers, sponsors and officials

POS	Name of Helm	Name of Crew	R1	R2	R3	R4	R5	R6	R7	R8	R9	Total	Max	Net Max	Boat Allocation
1	Frank van Beek	Sabine Vahrenkamp	1	1	1	1	3	2	5	3	2	19	5	14	H10
2	Klaus Mueller	Jane Nicolson	6	3	2	2	2	1	1	8	6	31	8	23	Р
3	Tony van Thiel	Paul Henry Van Thiel	11	2	4	6	1	4	3	5	3	39	11	28	Н8
4	Douwe Sickler	Erik Nydam	4	7	3	3	7	9	2	1	12	48	12	36	P
5	Dave Clark	Graziella Rivault	9	6	9	4	10	3	4	2	5	52	10	42	Н6
6	Bob Gardham	Judy Gardham	3	4	5	8	8	6	7	7	7	55	8	47	H2
7	Volker Vahrenkamp	Mike Kramer	5	12	12	7	6	5	16	6	1	70	16	54	нз
8	Victoria Grainger	Susanne Solberg	2	14	10	5	4	8	8	10	16	77	16	61	Н9
9	Rob Nieuwenhuijs	Safia Al Salim Al Habsi	16	16	6	16	5	7	9	4	4	83	16	67	Н5
10	Chuck Heller	Evelyn Vaessen	8	10	7	10	11	10	10	14	14	94	14	80	Н4
11	Steve Rice	Luci Ambrose	14	8	11	14	16	13	6	9	8	99	16	83	HN1
12	Joe Cummings	Kirsten Cummings	10	5	14	12	16	14	11	11	9	102	16	86	P
13	Ken Portanger	Cees van Eden	7	9	13	11	12	11	12	12	13	100	13	87	Н1
14	Torstein Smenes	Fred Rourke	13	13	8	9	9	15	14	16	10	107	16	91	Н7
15	lain Hudson	Katie Whyte	12	11	15	13	13	12	13	13	11	113	15	98	HN2



2005-2006 Catamaran Team Racing Results

The 2005 - 2006 Hobie-16 class team racing competition was concluded on September 1st. In this competition a total of 9 teams competed. Every month a total of six races were held on one day in which each team entered 3 different crews to aim for the lowest overall score after one year. New regulations were introduced to ensure maximum competition by ranking crews to ensure each crew was competing directly with crews with similar sailing skills. It was a shame that between January and May 2006 four races had to be cancelled due to a lack of wind (very unlucky), but the remaining 8 races were good fun. The team in first place with four first and four second places was the Dayaks, followed by the Surfing Turtles in second and the Giants in third place. Several teams have been struggling to get sufficient sailors on the water and will be looking for new sailing blood for the new season, which starts in October. It's a lot of fun and open for all levels of sailing experience with the Annual Regatta on march 15 and 16 2007 as the highlight. A special thanks goes to Rob Nieuwenhuijs, for the overall organisation

Team	Results													OVERALL
	0	N	D	J	F	M	Α	M	J	J	Α	S		
Dayaks	2	2	1	C A N C E L L E D	2	C A N C E L L E D		O	2	1	1	1	12	1
Surfin Turtles	1	7	4		1				1	2	2	2	20	2
Giants	4	9	2		5		С		3	4	3	3	33	3
MusCats I	6	4	8		4		ANCELLED	A N	5	6	7	5	45	4
NCL	8	6	3		6			C E L	6	9	4	4	46	5
Dayats	5	3	9		9			L E	7	8	5	8	54	6
MusCats II	7	10	5		7			D	8	5	11	6	59	7
Wildcats	9	8	7		8				9	7	6	7	61	8
DCats	11	11	11		11				4	3	11	11	73	9

Overall Results of the 2005 - 2006 Hobie-16 class team racing competition

RAHBC Sailing Organisation

Sailing Captain - Cees van Eden Hobie 16 Captain - Rob Nieuwenhuijs Laser Captain - Tony van Thiel Topper Captain - Fred Park Optimist Captain - Frank van Beek cve@mac.com Robbert.Nieuwenhuijs@pdo.co.om Tony.AGM.VanThiel@pdo.co.om fredngill2@yahoo.co.uk Frank.VanBeek@pdo.co.om

For additional information on courses, racing, events, results and tips and techniques, please visit the RAHBC website at www.pdo.co.om/hseforcontractors/rahbc